Leadership Resource Hub
James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership

We are delighted and very proud to be informed by, as well as house the wisdom, resources and legacy of The James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership at the Møller Centre.

Working in partnership with the Academy we have developed a special leadership resource space at the Centre that houses these resources and provide a space for Associates, scholars, executives and practitioners to study, research and develop further understanding on the subject of leadership.

The James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership was founded on the belief that there is leadership within every person. Formerly known as the Center for Political Leadership and Participation, the Academy was founded in 1982 at the University of Maryland, College Park, and became the first academic programme in the USA to support emerging leaders seeking elective office.

This key knowledge, expertise and research base along with an active network of Academy alumni underpins our strong focus on practical leadership development in the pedagogical design of our programmes. Internationally renowned US Leadership Scholar Professor Georgia Sorenson, founder of the James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership and co- founder of the International Leadership Association joined the Møller Centre in June 2015 as Leadership Scholar and Møller By-Fellow of Churchill College.

James MacGregor Burns

James MacGregor Burns was an American historian and political scientist, presidential biographer, and authority on leadership studies. He was best known for his contributions to the transactional, transformational, aspirational, and visionary schools of leadership theory.  His work shifted the focus of leadership studies from the traits and actions of great men to the interaction of leaders and their constituencies as collaborators working toward mutual benefit.  Burns was the Woodrow Wilson Professor of Government Emeritus at Williams College and Distinguished Leadership Scholar at the James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership of the School of Public Policy at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Professor Georgia Sorenson

Georgia Sorenson founded the James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership at the University of Maryland, USA where she was a Distinguished Research Professor and she also co-founded the International Leadership Association. Professor Sorenson has served as Senior Policy Analyst to President Jimmy Carter in the White House, Inaugural Chair and Professor of Transformational Leadership of the U.S. Army War College, and Visiting Senior Scholar at the University of Richmond’s Jepson School of Leadership Studies, as well as the University of Maryland Carey School of Law.

An architect of the leadership studies field, Georgia was awarded the 2015 International Leadership Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award, an award that “honours an individual’s accomplishments in the development and enhancement of the field of leadership over his or her lifetime.”

Georgia has been a key contributor to the Møller Centre’s ‘Churchill Leadership Fellows’ programme for next-generation leaders.

Dr. Sorenson is co-editor (with George Goethals and James MacGregor Burns) of the four-volume multi-award winning Encyclopedia of Leadership, and The Quest for a General Theory of Leadership. Her latest book is on business leadership, The Power of Invisible Leadership (with Gill Hickman). Sorenson serves on the editorial board of numerous refereed journals including Leadership (U.S. Editor) and Leadership Review.

She is co-editor (with Ronald Riggio) of a series, Leadership Research and Practice, for Routledge Press. The series includes both edited and authored volumes showcasing the latest leadership and behavioral research, as well as practical books based on the latest leadership theory with applications to Management, Industrial/Organizational Psychology, Organizational Behavior, Law, Political Science, and Military Psychology.  Details here.

Her upcoming book is on the business leadership philosophy of Béla Hatvany.